Near Dijon

Our region

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+

Dijon is the capital of the Burgundy Franche-Comté region, an easy-going city, characterised by solidarity. It is part of the Dijon metropolitan area. With almost 260,000 inhabitants, it is the only urban area in eastern France to be enjoying population growth. The city's demographic dynamism results from a proactive policy that has led to the completion of several ambitious projects: over one billion euros injected into the regional economy over the past 15 years to equip the metropolitan area with major infrastructures; hundreds of new housing projects completed each year; 400 hectares allotted to companies. This strategy of controlled development has borne fruit. Since 1 January 2016, Dijon has been one of France's 13 regional capitals, for the Burgundy-Franche-Comté region.


It is located between the hills of the Burgundy wine region (from Dijon to Beaune) to the west, the Saône plain to the east and the Langres plateau to the north.


Two rivers cross the city: the Ouche and the Suzon (which is channelled underground in the urban area), as well as the Canal de Bourgogne between Saône and Yonne.